

UNIVERSITY GRANTS COMMISSION

COMMISSION CIRCULAR NO. 979

No. 20, Ward Place, Colombo 07.

09.04.2012

Vice Chancellors of Universities Rectors of Campuses Directors of Institutes

IMPLEMENTATION OF THE AWARD OF THE ARBITRATION ON INDUSTRIAL DISPUTE IN BETWEEN THE INTER UNIVERSITY SUB-WARDENS UNION AND THE UNIVERSITY GRANTS COMMISSION – AWARD DATED 16.08.2007

Your reference is invited to the provisions in Commission Circular No. 967 dated 04.10.2011 issued on payment of allowance to Sub-Wardens.

The University Grants Commission at its 845th meeting held on 15.03.2012 having observed the subsequent interpretation dated 03.02.2012 given by the Arbitrator on the Award dated 16.08.2007 decided to amend the Commission Circular No. 967 of 04.10.2011 to extend the award to all holders of the post of Sub-Warden (Full time) on permanent basis, in the following manner:-

- (a) An allowance equal to 10% of the basic salary to be paid in addition to the salary as applicable.
- (b) An allowance equal to 5% of the basic salary to be paid in addition to the above (a) in lieu of the housing facilities to them. On the provision of such housing facilities this 5% allowance would cease to operate.
- (c) This entire payment of 15% (10% + 5%) specified in above (a) and (b) shall be considered as in the nature of an allowance, such as traveling allowance, subsistence etc. and not as an increase on the salary of Sub-Wardens (Full time) and;
- (d) This award shall take effect from the date of the Reference for Arbitration of this dispute by the Hon. Minister of Labour i.e. 20.03.2001.

In view of the above, the holders of the post of Sub-Warden (Full-time) are entitled for the payment of an allowance equal to 15% of the basic salary with effect from 20.03.2001 subject to the above conditions.

Accordingly, the Higher Educational Institutions/ Institutes are informed to pay the allowance and/or arrears to the employees concerned as the case may be.

Please note that Section (vii) of the para 6 of Commission Circular No. 975 dated 13.01.2012 and provisions in Commission Circular No. 967 are hereby rescinded.

Please take action accordingly.

(Prof. Gamini Samaranayake)

Chairman

Cc:

- 1. Secretary/ Ministry of Higher Education
- 2. Chairman's Office/UGC
- 3. Vice-Chairman/UGC
- 4. Members of the UGC
- 5. Secretary/UGC
- 6. Deans of Faculties
- 7. Registrars of Universities
- 8. Accountant/UGC
- 9. Bursars of Universities
- 10. Librarians/SAL/AL of the Higher Educational Institutions/ Institutes
- 11. Deputy Registrars/ Snr. Asst. Registrars/ Asst. Registrars of Campuses/Institutes
- 12. Deputy Bursars/ Snr. Asst. Bursars/Asst. Bursars of Campuses/Institutes
- 13. Chief Internal Auditor/UGC
- 14. Govt. Audit Superintendents of Universities
- 15. Snr. Asst. Int. Auditors/Asst. Int. Auditors of HEIs
- 16. Secretaries of Trade Unions
- 17. Auditor-General

UGC/HR/6/1/35